It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:16 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
JB
 Post subject: Cambelt
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 3:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 1:56 am
Posts: 21
Location: Sweden
Reputation: 0

I got a 323F BG 1.8 -92
If my cambelt breaks, will my engine die?
Seems like its pretty hard to replace it (not much room) and i dunno if any previous owner have changed it, so i dunno if i should change it or not


Top
 Profile  
 
cyberpaddy66
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 3:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:02 pm
Posts: 755
Location: Penzance, Cornwall
Reputation: 2

What mileage you done?

They should be changes every 65K miles so if your close it's not worth taking the risk to be honest.


Top
 Profile  
 
JB
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 4:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 1:56 am
Posts: 21
Location: Sweden
Reputation: 0

15 500 mil, that should be 96 312 miles, so i guess some of the previous owners should have changed it at least one time (i hope).
Is it easy to replace or do i have to lift the whole engine up to get enough room to replace it?


Top
 Profile  
 
cyberpaddy66
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 5:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:02 pm
Posts: 755
Location: Penzance, Cornwall
Reputation: 2

It's fiddly but quite do-able, not sure if someone's done a guide yet but many have changed the belts on the road-side without much difficulty.


Top
 Profile  
 
karissabob
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 5:36 pm 
Membership Secretary Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:04 pm
Posts: 2480
Location: Rustville
Reputation: 30

The engine is safe if the cambelt breaks (happened to mine). Never seen the cambelt changing process though, the garage put a new one on, but then it did happen while it was in the garage.

Best to change it though, just to be safe :)

_________________
Club & Custom stickers available :D
For colours see here
Sizes up to 550mm x 200mm
PM me for more details ;)


Top
 Profile Facebook  
 
ladybird
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 9:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 11:16 pm
Posts: 760
Location: Pompey!!
Reputation: 4

what sort of price would it be for a garage to fit new one???

_________________
" THE BUG " BG GT
" LEON CUPRA "


Top
 Profile  
 
karissabob
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 12:51 pm 
Membership Secretary Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:04 pm
Posts: 2480
Location: Rustville
Reputation: 30

Can't remember what mine cost, but it is the 1.6, and the cost was lost amongst all the other work that was done :roll:

_________________
Club & Custom stickers available :D
For colours see here
Sizes up to 550mm x 200mm
PM me for more details ;)


Top
 Profile Facebook  
 
gaznoiz
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 2:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 8:14 pm
Posts: 55
Location: rhyl north wales
Reputation: 1

im changing the belt on the familia at some point it is a 1.6 dohc so similar to the 1.8 dohc you are on about , ill post a write up but it wont be for a fair few weeks yet. i change cambelts before 60,000 mile mark , also good to visually inspect the belts from time to time , as cars that are old or have been stood for a while might need a cambelt sooner .


Top
 Profile  
 
ladybird
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 3:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 11:16 pm
Posts: 760
Location: Pompey!!
Reputation: 4

i think i got quoted bout £150 but that was with the old mechanic that i dont use or trust anymore. im sure mines overdue a change, luckily im not doing hardly any mileage in it at mo, and with still no bloody job it'll have to wait a few months more. :tard: :flower:

_________________
" THE BUG " BG GT
" LEON CUPRA "


Top
 Profile  
 
Neil F
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 7:09 pm 
Club President Offline
User avatar

My Car: Mazda 323F

Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 1:23 am
Posts: 13641
Location: Edinburgh-ish
Reputation: 38

I suspect you actually have the 1.8 SOHC, rather than the DOHC?
We didn't get the 1.8 SOHC over here, just the 1.6.
Both engines are safe if the cambelt snaps. :wink:


Top
 Profile Facebook  
 
JB
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 10:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 1:56 am
Posts: 21
Location: Sweden
Reputation: 0

Neil F wrote:
I suspect you actually have the 1.8 SOHC, rather than the DOHC?
We didn't get the 1.8 SOHC over here, just the 1.6.
Both engines are safe if the cambelt snaps. :wink:


I have the 1.8 DOHC, nice to hear that the engine is safe, but i might consider replacing the cambelt anyway unless i find some info somewhere when it was replaced last time


Top
 Profile  
 
Danny-6000xtr
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 11:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:24 pm
Posts: 717
Location: Burton on trent
Reputation: 15

best to change it tbh. its about 5 - 10% cost to replace the belt as if the belt snapped. it cost 85% money to rebuild the engine


Top
 Profile  
 
karissabob
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 8:45 am 
Membership Secretary Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:04 pm
Posts: 2480
Location: Rustville
Reputation: 30

Danny-6000xtr wrote:
best to change it tbh. its about 5 - 10% cost to replace the belt as if the belt snapped. it cost 85% money to rebuild the engine


As Neil and I said, the engine is safe if the belt breaks. You just need to sort the timings out again, and buy a new belt, and fit it :scratch:

_________________
Club & Custom stickers available :D
For colours see here
Sizes up to 550mm x 200mm
PM me for more details ;)


Top
 Profile Facebook  
 
Neil F
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 10:20 pm 
Club President Offline
User avatar

My Car: Mazda 323F

Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 1:23 am
Posts: 13641
Location: Edinburgh-ish
Reputation: 38

karissabob wrote:

As Neil and I said, the engine is safe if the belt breaks. You just need to sort the timings out again, and buy a new belt, and fit it :scratch:


And of course, you need to get home using some other means of transport! :lol:


Top
 Profile Facebook  
 
cyberpaddy66
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 9:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:02 pm
Posts: 755
Location: Penzance, Cornwall
Reputation: 2

Neil F wrote:
I suspect you actually have the 1.8 SOHC, rather than the DOHC?
We didn't get the 1.8 SOHC over here, just the 1.6.
Both engines are safe if the cambelt snaps. :wink:


PHEW!

I was a bit worried about that myself, thanks Neil :D


Top
 Profile  
 
mazz
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 10:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 6:31 pm
Posts: 5096
Location: Swindon
Reputation: 36

well i csn deffo vouch that they be fine...
after mine had a fit and broke, lol
its a pig or can be if the lower bolt gets stuck.. :lol:
but dead easy to change yourself otherwise :)

_________________
Club 323 swindon division :)

Fleet of 8 & still going strong 8)
Nes, Ghost, White shite 1, White shite 2, Messiah, Kgb, Bug & Riot

www.reefgeeks.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
bullit
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 8:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:00 pm
Posts: 169
Location: Leigh, Lancashire
Reputation: 0

i heard knicker elastic works
wudnt know as dont wear em


Top
 Profile  
 
ladybird
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 6:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 11:16 pm
Posts: 760
Location: Pompey!!
Reputation: 4

bullit wrote:
i heard knicker elastic works
wudnt know as dont wear em


R U sure ??? :badgrin:

_________________
" THE BUG " BG GT
" LEON CUPRA "


Top
 Profile  
 
cyberpaddy66
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 5:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:02 pm
Posts: 755
Location: Penzance, Cornwall
Reputation: 2

Does anyone have a good EASY way of undoing the bottom pullet cam belt flange bolt?

Asked a few garages and most of them said 'Air Gun' but seeing as I don't have access to one of them I might have to go with what one garage said and that was to use a 'strong arm' wrench and a good socket, un-clip the HT lead and give the engine a quick flick with the starter motor. I don't know about you but this sounds very dangerous!!!

I need to get this dam belt changed before the weekend as I was planning on going to my parents (3.5 hour drive) and I don't want to risk the current belt as the car has now done over 120K miles and I have no way of telling if the previous 6 owners did the timing belt change ar 65K miles (gulp).


Top
 Profile  
 
Stuz
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 6:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 3:41 am
Posts: 4376
Location: Scarborough u.k
Reputation: 34

sounds about right to me with the big bar etc, as long as you take note which way the engine spins then put bar on in the correct way.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Karma functions powered by Karma MOD © 2007, 2009 m157y